Tuesday, September 10, 2013

Today In KISStory - 1975


Today In KISStory - 1975: ALIVE! is released

Alive! is KISS' fourth album and is considered their breakthrough, as well as a landmark for live albums. Released on September 10, 1975, the double-disc set contains live versions of selected tracks from their first three studio albums, KISS, Hotter Than Hell, and Dressed to Kill.

Track listing

1. "Deuce"

2. "Strutter"

3. "Got to Choose"

4. "Hotter Than Hell"

5. "Firehouse"

6. "Nothin' to Lose"

7. "C'mon and Love Me"

8. "Parasite"

9. "She"

10. "Watchin' You"

11. "100,000 Years"

12. "Black Diamond"

13. "Rock Bottom"

14. "Cold Gin"

15. "Rock and Roll All Nite"

16. "Let Me Go, Rock 'n' Roll"

It peaked at #9 on the album charts. The album charted for 110 weeks, by far the longest in the band's history. In 2003 the album was ranked #159 on Rolling Stone magazine's list of the 500 greatest albums of all time.

Album Details:

Produced, engineered, and mixed by Eddie Kramer, assisted by Neal Teeman. Recorded live during the “Dressed To Kill” tour. Overdubbed and mixed at Electric Lady Studios, New York City, NY, in late July / early August 1975. The concerts recorded for use on the album included: Cobo Arena, Detroit, MI on May 16; Music Hall, Cleveland, OH, on June 21; two nearly sold-out shows at the Orpheum Theatre in Davenport, IA, on July 20; and the sold-out Convention Center in Wildwood, NJ, on July 23 (Gooch, Suhs – KISS Alive Forever).