Monday, May 23, 2011

Today in KISStory - May 23, 1979

Today in KISStory - May 23, 1979: KISS release 'Dynasty". The album, and its subsequent tour, were billed as the "Return of Kiss." The band as a full unit had not released a studio album since 1977 and had not toured since the Spring of 1978. The album would restore the band to commercial prominence, reaching # 9 on the US Billboard  album chart.

Kiss enlisted Vini Poncia, who produced Peter Criss's solo album, to produce Dynasty. After pre-production and rehearsals were completed, Poncia decided to exclude Criss from most of the recording, judging him unable to drum well enough. Criss, by this time, had fallen deep into substance abuse and was also recovering from an automobile accident. He performed on only one song, "Dirty Livin'." The rest of the drums were recorded by Anton Fig, who played drums on Ace Frehley's 1978 solo album.

The first single from the album, "I Was Made For Lovin' You," marked a rather drastic stylistic departure for Kiss. It had a pronounced disco beat, and was a success at a time when disco was at its peak popularity.

After waiting nearly two years to record lead vocals for a Kiss song (1977's "Shock Me"and "Rocket Ride"), Ace Frehley contributed three to Dynasty - "2000 Man," "Hard Times" and "Save Your Love." "2000 Man," a cover of the 1967 Rolling Stones song, would become a concert staple for Kiss and one of Frehley's signature songs. "Hard Times" and "Save Your Love" were recorded in the same hard rock style as Frehley's solo album.

Track listing

1.     "I Was Made for Lovin' You"
2.     "2000 Man"    
3.     "Sure Know Something"    
4.     "Dirty Livin'"    
5.     "Charisma"
6.     "Magic Touch"    
7.     "Hard Times"    
8.     "X-Ray Eyes"    
9.     "Save Your Love"